New names for Alcatraz Hard Rock & Metal Festival


On Friday 11th, Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th of August 2017, fans of the heavier guitarwork can gather in Courtrai (Belgium) for the tenth anniversary edition from Alcatraz Hard Rock & Metal Festival. Who thought we already had been knocked down with the announcement of top names, will be more than happy to check out our additions from today.

Foto (c) Armelle van Helden, RockMuZine

After the impressive front man Abbath clinched with the rest of his Immortal mates and all ended up in a court soap opera, the man decided to proceed under his own name. Abbath will perform on Saturday to put the Marquee upside down. And what about Sleep? The stoner pioneers do not play frequently live but they are certainly coming to Courtrai this summer. Figurehead of Sleep, Matt Pike, will even be on stage twice at Alcatraz. Also High On Fire will make her appearance, a band where Pike is playing it harder with a mix of doom, sludge and even thrash. And also our heart beats faster for Wolves In The Throne Room. To put these kind of bands on an outdoor stage would be a shame but the arrival of our second stage is opening doors indeed.

“Cascadian Black Metal” from Wiitr is a wonderfully atmospheric variant of the genre, focused on nature themes, in which long-drawn-out riffs are central to hypnotic undertones. Check! Last but not least we offer you Denner-Shermann, where both guitar players were the original section from Mercyful Fate. They were responsible for the legendary guitar tunes on classics like “Melissa” and “Don’t Break The Oath”. They are back and we will have known it for sure on Friday evening…

So far the following bands have confirmed: Amon Amarth, Saxon, Testament, Doro, Iced Earth, Death Angel, Life of Agony, Sacred Reich, UFO, Obituary, Paradise Lost, Raven, Rage, Dirkschneider, Hell, Morbid Angel, Enslaved, Moonspell, Asphyx, Brant Bjork, King Hiss, Monkey 3, Dr. Living Death, Evil Invaders Carnation, Abbath, Sleep, High on Fire, Wolves in the Throne Room and Denner-Shermann.