Hellions announce new album ‘Opera Oblivia’


HellionsHellions have announced their new album ‘Opera Oblivia’ will be released on July 29 via UNFD. The band have also released a video for their first single ‘Quality Of Life’ – an empowering and breakneck trip through thrilling riffery and soaring choruses that became a new anthem for the band on their recent UK & European tour, taking in Slam Dunk, Impericon Festivals and Groezrock among others.

A collection of wonderful moments that tend to drift away from our memory: at its best, this is what life is. And for Hellions, their third album Opera Oblivia is a glorious celebration and forensic examination of everything that makes being alive worthwhile – from high to low, they say, the nearest thing any of us have to a shortcut to happiness is the necessity of being true to oneself.

“We would love for Opera Oblivia to be an escape for its listeners,” suggests guitarist Matthew Gravolin,“but more than that, we want it to commiserate with people through our common unpleasantries and overwhelming hardships, and also celebrate alongside our inevitable victory. We want people to allow it to befriend them and remain with them long after its sounds fade out.”

Structured like a theatrical presentation, Opera Oblivia is the Sydney quintet’s defining statement to date, a brave masterpiece that lays bare the colossal scope of both their ambition and talent. Recorded at Karma Sound Studios in Thailand, frontman Dre Faivre, guitarists Gravolin and Josh Campiao, bassist Chris Moretti and drummer Anthony Caruso have, alongside producer Shane Edwards and collaborations from Northlane riffmaster general Jonathon Deiley, Ocean Grove’s Sam Bassal and Duane Hazell of Heroes For Hire, stretched themselves like never before, taking the flashes of glory that peppered Die Young (2014) and Indian Summer (2015) and expanding them into a fully-formed project that vibrates with energy and joy.

The album runs riot with its subject matter, from the existential disillusionment of the thrilling ”Thresher” to the self-determination of “Quality Of Life” and the shocking and sad “He Without Sin”. It’s a collection of songs as concerned with the state of the world outside our heads as the one within, and the musical palette reflects this accordingly.

unnamed (19)Tracks:
1. 24
2. Quality Of Life
3. Thresher
4. Lotus Eater
5. He Without Sin i) Halation
6. He Without Sin ii) Heels of the Hands
7. Bad Way
8. Nightliner Rhaposdy
9. Nuestra Culpa
10. 25